The Thin Red Line

Every man fights his own war.

The Thin Red Line (1998)


Based on the graphic novel by James Jones, The Thin Red Line tells the story of a group of men, an Army Rifle company called C-for-Charlie, who change, suffer, and ultimately make essential discoveries about themselves during the fierce World War II battle of Guadalcanal. It follows their journey, from the surprise of an unopposed landing, through the bloody and exhausting battles that follow, to the ultimate departure of those who survived. A powerful frontline cast - including Sean Penn, Nick Nolte, Woody Harrelson and George Clooney - explodes into action in this hauntingly realistic view of military and moral chaos in the Pacific during World War II.

Director: Terrence Malick
Writer: Terrence Malick

Release Date: 1998-12-25
Status: Released
Run time: 170 min / 2:50
Budget: $52,000,000
Revenue: $98,126,565
Production Companies : Fox 2000 Pictures, Phoenix Pictures, Geisler-Roberdeau
Production Countries: Canada, United States of America



Sean Penn
1st Sgt. Edward Welsh
Adrien Brody
Cpl. Geoffrey Fife
Jim Caviezel
Pvt. Robert Witt
Ben Chaplin
Pvt. Jack Bell
George Clooney
Capt. Charles Bosche
John Cusack
Capt. John Gaff
Woody Harrelson
Sgt. William Keck
Elias Koteas
Capt. James 'Bugger' Staros
Nick Nolte
Lt. Col. Gordon Tall
John C. Reilly
Sgt. Maynard Storm
John Travolta
Brig. Gen. David Quintard
Kirk Acevedo
Pvt. Alfredo Tella
Mark Boone Junior
Pvt. Christopher Peale
Matt Doran
Pvt. Howard Coombs
Paul Gleeson
1st Lt. George "Brass" Band
Don Harvey
Sgt. Paul Becker
Arie Verveen
Pfc. Charlie Dale
Jared Leto
2nd Lt. William Whyte
John Savage
Sgt. Jack McCron
Nick Stahl
Pfc. Edward Bead
Miranda Otto
Marty Bell
Tim Blake Nelson
Pvt. Brian Tills
Dash Mihok
Pfc. Don Doll
Larry Romano
Pvt. Frank Mazzi
Penelope Allen
Witt's Mother
Danny Hoch
Pvt. Leonardo Carni


Directing Terrence Malick Director
Writing Terrence Malick Screenplay
Writing James Jones Novel
Production George Stevens Jr. Executive Producer
Production Robert Michael Geisler Producer
Production Grant Hill Producer
Production John Roberdeau Producer
Production Sheila Davis Lawrence Producer
Camera John Toll Director of Photography
Sound Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer
Production Dianne Crittenden Casting
Art Jack Fisk Production Design
Art Ian Gracie Art Direction
Art Richard Hobbs Set Decoration
Art Suza Maybury Set Decoration
Editing Leslie Jones Editor
Editing Saar Klein Editor
Editing Billy Weber Editor
Costume & Make-Up Margot Wilson Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Kerry Thompson Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Angela Conte Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Toni Ffrench Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Joan Petch Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Chiara Tripodi Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Vivien Mepham Hair Designer
Costume & Make-Up Vivien Mepham Makeup Designer
Art Jenny O'Connell Art Department Coordinator
Art Richie Dehne Property Master
Art William A. Petrotta Property Master
Visual Effects Ian Brown 3D Animator
Visual Effects Fiona Chilton Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Chris Godfrey Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Simon Whiteley Visual Effects Designer
Camera Mike Thomas Camera Operator
Camera Stephen S. Campanelli Camera Operator
Camera Leigh Mackenzie Camera Operator
Camera Reuben Aaronson Camera Operator
Camera Gary Capo Second Unit Director of Photography
Camera Michael Vivian Dolly Grip
Lighting Mick Morris Gaffer
Lighting Randy Woodside Gaffer
Lighting James F. Boyle Gaffer
Lighting Brett Jarman Gaffer
Camera David Nichols Key Grip
Camera Herb Ault Key Grip
Camera Paul E. Borchardt Key Grip
Camera Toby Copping Key Grip
Camera Merie Weismiller Wallace Still Photographer
Production Barbara Collins Casting Associate
Crew John Bowring Armorer
Crew Peter Cogar Armorer
Crew Amanda Kirby Armorer
Crew Scott Warwick Armorer
Directing Pamela Willis Script Supervisor
Crew Bruce Simpson Aerial Coordinator
Directing Chris O'Connell Script Supervisor
Crew Lance Julian Marine Coordinator
Directing Emily Saunders Script Coordinator
Sound Karyn Foster ADR Editor
Sound Lee Lemont ADR Editor
Sound Hugh Waddell ADR Supervisor
Sound Patrick J. Foley Dialogue Editor
Sound John F. Reynolds Dialogue Editor
Sound Virginia Cook-McGowan Dialogue Editor
Sound Hilda Hodges Foley
Sound John Roesch Foley
Sound David L. Horton Jr. Foley Editor
Sound Christopher S. Aud Sound Effects Editor
Sound Jayme S. Parker Sound Effects Editor
Sound Andrew Somers Sound Effects Editor
Sound John Voss Bonds Jr. Sound Effects Editor
Sound Mark L. Mangino Sound Effects Editor
Sound Robert Renga Sound Recordist
Sound Craig Heath Sound Recordist
Sound Greg Burgmann Sound Recordist
Sound Anna Behlmer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Andy Nelson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound J. Paul Huntsman Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Gary Fry Stunts

Similar Movies